Prof. LI Xiangyang Honored with the ACM fellow

On Dec 11, Professor LI Xiangyang from University of Science and Technology of China was announced as a Fellow of the ACM for his contributions to the design, analysis and optimization of IoT and mobile systems.  

ACM, founded in 1947, is the most influential academic computing society. At the meantime, it is the judging body of A.M. Turing Award – Nobel Prize in Computer Science. ACM has more than 100 thousand members in over 130 countries and regions. The ACM Fellows Program was established in 1993 to recognize and honor distinguished ACM members for their accomplishments that drive the digital age and for their significant contributions to the mission of the ACM. Considering the number of ACM members, being named as ACM fellows also means entering the top 1% level – a real and highly-professional honor.

Professor LI Xiangyang obtained both bachelor of computer science and bachelor of business administration from Tsinghua University in 1995, and received a master degree and PhD from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1999 and 2001 respectively. He had been an assistant professor, associate professor, and professor in the Department of Computer Science at the Illinois Institute of Technology in the United States. What’s more, he had been an EMC Chair Professor at Tsinghua University and a visiting professor at Microsoft Research Asia.  

Engaged in research on IoT, mobile and edge computing, data sharing transactions and privacy protection, Professor LI Xiang-yang has published more than 400 academic papers in high-level international journals and conferences including more than 160 CCF A papers and 15 well-known conference ACM MobiCom papers. His Google Scholar has owned more than 20,000 citations, while his H-Index has been up to 75. In addition, he authorized more than 30 domestic and foreign patents.

Professor LI Xiang-yang is one of the 58 outstanding computer scientists who will be inducted as Fellows of the ACM this year. 7 Chinese scholars are honored on the list, and only three of them are from universities and institutes in China.

(Written by ZHAO Xiaona, edited by JIANG Pengcen, USTC News Center)